h1

Are you sitting this one out?

December 3, 2011

I used to be the life of the party. Really. I’d take every opportunity to go dancing with friends. I’d never spend a Saturday night at home. Now it seems to be the other way around. I find myself wondering when all of that happened. I never saw it coming. It feels like I was only twenty-five yesterday and waking up this morning I’m supposed to be all grown up.

I no longer feel at home in disco’s nor do I want to stand there trying too hard to appeal to some guy. I used to spend hours there loving the overall vibe, now all it seems is noisy. All I ever wanted to do was dance the night away, now I actually want to engage in conversation.

It’s not that I don’t want to dance anymore because I plan on dancing all my life. Things have just shifted a little. I dance in the kitchen while doing the dishes or in my bathroom while getting myself ready for the day. I still enjoy it just as much.

I like sitting in my local bar or restaurant in good company and just chat away about anything and everything. I seem to have a lot more pet peeves than I used to. Does that mean I’m old and boring all of a sudden?
I like to think not. I find I can still be amazed at the little things in life and have childlike bewonderment. I want to believe opportunity will knock on my door plenty of times to come and that only now I’m coming into my own. So you see, I plan on never really growing old on the inside.

Maybe it’s time for me to do a different kind of dancing. You know, not sit this one out.
Not sit life out anymore. Ever.

Let’s dance.

3 comments

  1. You have put my life and emotions into words as I never could. I, too, have a young heart and I will never stop dancing. Yet, over time, my discernment has increased and my focus is razor sharp. I know with all certainty, who I want to share my time with. It is rarely a noisy room. I still go out at least once a week, and I enjoy meeting new people. But, nothing warms my heart more than my home, my family, my music, and good friends.


  2. This is so wonderfully written! I still love to dance, but it’s usually around the house with my grandson. And most nights, I would rather stay at home. Not because I feel old, but because I love my home, and what it represents. When I was young, it was great t have the place that everyone wanted to hang out at. Now, I’m happy to have the place that makes people feel like they are home. I feel lucky to have love in my life that makes it okay for me to sit this one out


  3. I could have written this myself 🙂 altough I didn’t dance the night away in the disco. But when I was younger I used to go out late talking, partying, drinking, having fun untill the morning. I lived to be with my friends. Was never home.
    Now I have two kids. I stay at home most evenings and when I want to go somewhere I have to organize, plan, ask for help and not just slamming the door behind me 🙂 I love my children with hole my heart ♥. I made my choice and have no regrets !
    But sometimes, just sometimes I miss it, really miss it,… the carelessness,… and yes sometimes I wonder were the years have gone..

    Nathalie



Comments are closed.

